D-Day, St. Paul’s Cathedral, and today for you, I weep

Shortly after the 9/11/2001 attack, I traveled to London for a visit and a bit of tourism. I was met with compassion, kind condolences from cab drivers, store clerks, and restauranteurs. The comfort I felt was warm, deep and reassuring. Thank you for that.

Part of my visit included a walk through the extraordinary St. Paul’s Cathedral.  I was overwhelmed by the beauty and history of this magnificent space.  And then, beyond the High Altar, at the east end of the cathedral, I came to the American Memorial Chapel, a space rebuilt after having been destroyed in the Blitz.  These words plainly seen: To The American Dead of the Second World War from the People of Britain. 

I wept uncontrollably at the power of these words inlaid on the marble floor . Even as I write about the experience, my throat tightens and my eyes tear up.

My recently deceased father fought in WWII. He suffered horrible war memories until the day he died. I will forever honor the twenty-eight thousand men who died at Normandy. They will never have born children… children like me whose fathers’ only lasting memories were of his daughter and the horrors of that war.

Londoners, all of U.K., Europe, are hurting right now. I want you to know my heart  weeps for you and your loss. I want you to know that your resilience is an inspiration and that we love you.

Today, on the anniversary of D-Day, I cannot abide the behavior of a U.S. executive branch that dishonors itself with insensitive tweets.

Leave a Reply

