Blind Bird Watching

How do you watch birds when you have no sight? I had seen a documentary about blind bird watchers:  A group of blind people were guided through woods. They were able to decipher a variety of bird calls and, from the sound of it, sensed they were in the midst of thousands of birds.

The next day, I tried it.  I walked to my favorite wooded path. Looking around me, I saw the flutter of a passing bird every now and then, and heard a tweet or two. Then, I closed my eyes and stood quietly.  That’s when the magic began.

Misty Woods

“Misty Woods” Acrylic on canvas, 4′ x 5′

Blind bird-watching is a wonder. I suggest you try it.

 

2 thoughts on “Blind Bird Watching

    • Thank you for turning me on to your blog on the relationship between hearing and taste! I will want to watch the whole BBC “Secret of Quantum Physics.” Love this stuff!

Leave a Reply

