Mandala Moon Moves

“Oh, come sweet moon”….these new pieces by Marsha Mogowski are moon jewels touched with mysticism.  I love them!

 Although each can stand on it’s own, I like them together.  They evoke movement.  Together, they move like the moons of Jupiter.  Up close and individually, their jewel like qualities explode.

These images strangely bring to my mind a poem I had written in 1972…the poem was dictated…no, more like acted out for me in a dream.  A witch was standing in a pool of moonlit swamp reciting this “incantation”.  I woke from the dream and wrote it down:

Oh come sweet moon.
The wicked night has fallen deep
to cover us and kill us with dark…

…Light the fields a flourescent glow
and show..and show
the still night, the calm night, the twilight
the pain you have to give.

Where now? What to?
Give still, give few.
I want to see, but yet do not.
I am cool, and I am hot.
Yes I know, but I know not
where to go and what to….

Help, help, help!
Lend a stretching beam before I sink into the swamp.
I’m drowning, I’m dying.
I hate you, I love you.
But I need you.  And now I must go.  I am done.

That’s exactly it.

Leave a Reply

